At a glance
| Dates | Expected Jan/Feb 2027Not announced as of 19 October 2026. Recent editions opened on a Friday or Saturday between 10 January and 7 February and ran nine or ten days (31 Jan–8 Feb 2026, 7–16 Feb 2025), so late January to mid-February 2027 is likely. Seollal falls on Sunday 7 February 2027 (holiday 6–9 February). It would be the 34th edition. |
|---|---|
| Next edition | 2027: Not announced as of 19 October 2026. Recent editions opened on a Friday or Saturday between 10 January and 7 February and ran nine or ten days (31 Jan–8 Feb 2026, 7–16 Feb 2025), so late January to mid-February 2027 is likely. Seollal falls on Sunday 7 February 2027 (holiday 6–9 February). It would be the 34th edition. |
| Admission | Free entry to the grounds and sculpture displays (KTO's listings for 2025 and 2026). Whether sledding, smelt catching or the roasting activities charge a fee was not stated in the 2026 sources.Admission: Free |
| Venue | Dangol Plaza, Taebaeksan National Park (plus city-centre sites such as Hwangji Pond in some years)강원특별자치도 태백시 소도동 180 |
| Nearest station | Taebaek Station (태백역), Taebaek Line (Korail Mugunghwa and ITX-Maeum from Cheongnyangni)Not walkable: the station is in the city centre and Dangol Plaza is in the national park; take a taxi or a city bus |
| From Seoul | about 2 h 49 min · Bus + TaxiLeave from Dong Seoul Bus Terminal · One-way fare from ₩38,400Full route · Festivals by travel time from Seoul |
| Organizer | Taebaek City Culture Foundation, for Taebaek City(재)태백시문화재단 (주최: 태백시) |
| Usual timing | Usually nine or ten days between mid-January and mid-February, opening on a Friday or Saturday: 10–19 Jan 2020, 27–31 Jan 2023 (sculptures on show until 5 Feb), 26 Jan–4 Feb 2024, 7–16 Feb 2025 and 31 Jan–8 Feb 2026. The festival was not held in 2021 or 2022, and the 2011 edition was cancelled. Browse January / February festivals. |
| First held | 1994 |
| Last checked | 21 October 2026Checked against 37 sources · See sources |
What it is like
Taebaek is a former coal-mining city high in the mountains of southern Gangwon, and Taebaeksan (1,567 m) rises on its south-western side. The snow festival began in 1994 and is held each winter around Dangol Plaza, the main trailhead of what is now Taebaeksan National Park, with extra venues in the city centre such as Hwangji Pond, the spring counted as the source of the Nakdong River. Since 2020 the Taebaek City Culture Foundation has run it for the city.
The core is a field of large snow sculptures built on a new theme each year, some more than 10 m tall in 2026, with a national university snow-sculpture contest in the week before opening. Around them are a long snow sled run, ice sleds and skating, smelt catching, chestnuts and rice cakes roasted over coals, an igloo cafeteria selling hotteok and fish cake, an indoor kids' playground, and a snow-flower hiking contest on the mountain (7 February in 2026). In 2026 the sculptures stayed open and lit until 22:00 for the first time. Entry is free.
The 33rd edition ran 31 January–8 February 2026 under the slogan '2026 REAL', with a 'Snow Land' theme of Korean sport, food, heritage and a red-horse gate for the Year of the Horse. The 2027 dates had not been announced by 19 October 2026; recent editions opened on a Friday or Saturday between 10 January and 7 February.
Caveats: the festival has had uneven years. In 2025 it was renamed the Taebaek Winter Festival for one edition and spread into the city centre in response to warmer winters; only 12 sculptures were built, mild weather softened them, and the national park counted 27,868 visitors, far below earlier years. It was cancelled in 2011 over foot-and-mouth disease and was not held in 2021 or 2022. Dangol Plaza is outside the city centre, so plan on a taxi or local bus from the bus terminal or station, and dress for hard mountain cold.
Highlights
- Large snow sculptures at Dangol Plaza on a yearly theme; in 2026 'Snow Land', with works over 10 m tall and a red-horse gate for the Year of the Horse
- Night opening, new in 2026: the sculptures are lit from about 18:00 and open until 22:00 every festival day
- National university snow-sculpture contest in the week before opening (23–30 January 2026, 10 universities), with the finished works shown during the festival
- Snow-flower hiking contest on Taebaeksan (1,567 m): 7 February in 2026; in 2023 about 1,100 climbers headed for the summit
- Family zone: long snow sled run, ice sleds, skating, smelt catching, chestnut and garaetteok roasting, an igloo cafeteria and an indoor kids' playground
- Taebaek Coal Museum beside Dangol Plaza, open until 21:00 during the 2026 festival
Who it suits. Best for families with children who want a free snow day of sculptures, sledding and winter snacks, for winter hikers who want to pair Taebaeksan's snowy ridges with the festival, and for travellers happy with a three-hour bus or train ride into the mountains; less suited to anyone wanting a quick trip from Seoul, people who struggle with hard cold, or visitors expecting a large ticketed ice park.
Getting there
From Seoul
Intercity bus from Dong Seoul Terminal to Taebaek Bus Terminal, 25 a day as listed in October 2026, 2 h 49 m–3 h, ₩38,400 woodeung or ₩49,900 premium. By rail: Korail trains on the Taebaek Line from Cheongnyangni to Taebaek Station, 5 a day in October 2026 (four Mugunghwa, 3 h 24 m–3 h 42 m, ₩15,200, and one ITX-Maeum, 2 h 54 m, ₩21,600); no KTX serves Taebaek. Book on Korail's site or the Korail+ app. Dangol Plaza is in Taebaeksan National Park outside the city centre, so take a taxi or a city bus from the terminal or station.
From Busan
Intercity bus from Busan Central Bus Terminal (Nopo) to Taebaek Bus Terminal, 3 a day as listed in October 2026, 4 h 31 m–4 h 35 m, ₩53,200 woodeung; then a taxi or city bus to Dangol Plaza. In 2026 Korail also ran festival train tours from Busan Station on 2 and 4 February.
Last leg from Taebaek Station
Taebaek Line (Korail Mugunghwa and ITX-Maeum from Cheongnyangni). Not walkable: the station is in the city centre and Dangol Plaza is in the national park; take a taxi or a city bus
Festival shuttle
No festival shuttle was documented in the 2026 sources opened. In 2024 free shuttle buses ran on the 1.7 km road between the national park entrance and the Dangol car park. Check the official site (taebaeksnow.com) before you travel.
Getting home
The grounds closed at 17:00 in 2026, with the sculptures lit until 22:00. The rail and bus timetables for the 2027 festival dates have not been checked, and winter and Lunar New Year timetables may differ: check the last train in the Korail+ app (코레일+) or at Taebaek Station, and the last bus at Taebaek Bus Terminal, before the festival day, and book the return early at weekends.
Parking
Car parks at Dangol in Taebaeksan National Park; in 2026 car park 1 held an indoor experience zone, and the university sculptures stood around the Haneul Jeonmangdae car park. Parking fees were not published in the sources opened.
How to switch Naver Map and Kakao Map to English
Google Maps shows train, subway and bus routes in Korea but not walking or driving directions yet, so for the walk from the station Naver Map or Kakao Map is more reliable.
Before you go
1330 · Travel hotline
The Korea Tourism Organization’s helpline answers in English, Japanese and Chinese around the clock, and in several other languages from 08:00 to 19:00. Dial 1330 from a Korean phone, or +82-2-1330 from a phone registered abroad.
112 / 119 · Emergencies
112 for police, 119 for fire and ambulance. Both are free from any phone. Police on 112 can add an English or Chinese interpreter to the call.
T-money card
Buy one at a convenience store such as GS25, CU or 7-Eleven and top it up there with cash. It pays for subways and buses in most cities, and for most taxis.
Maps
Use Naver Map or Kakao Map for walking and bus directions; Google Maps does not yet give walking directions in Korea. Both apps can be switched to English. Naver Map: Menu (≡) → Settings → Language (Japanese and Chinese also available). Kakao Map: Menu (≡) → Settings → App settings → Language. If the option is missing, change your phone’s language and reopen the app. Small shop names and some reviews stay in Korean.
Trains and buses
Book trains on Korail’s English site and express buses on Kobus. Holiday weekends sell out first.
Checked 18 October 2026.
Tickets, prices and practical details
| Item | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Admission | Free | Free in 2025 and 2026 per KTO's listings; 2027 not announced |
- Booking
- Not required for the grounds. The snow-flower hiking contest and the Backpacking IN Taebaeksan camp-out (7–8 February 2026) had their own registration, but no details were found. In 2025 the opening ceremony and the sing-along shows were free on a first-come, first-served basis.
- English on site
- KTO publishes the festival in several foreign languages (seen in German, Russian and Traditional Chinese, and named in its Japanese data), but no English-language help on site was documented.
- Crowds
- Busy in good years, but attendance figures are disputed: about 230,000 people were reported over the 2023 opening weekend, and for 2024 the foundation claimed more than 580,000 while the national park's counters recorded 43,944. The 2025 edition was much quieter (27,868 counted in the national park, about 100,000 with the Hwangji Pond venue). The first weekend of 2026 was reported as packed; no 2026 total was published.
- Best time to go
- A weekday, arriving soon after the 10:00 opening for the sled runs and staying until dark (lights on from about 18:00 in 2026) to see the sculptures lit.
- What to bring
- Thermal layers, a windproof coat, waterproof boots, gloves and a hat; crampons and proper winter gear if you plan to climb Taebaeksan (1,567 m); some cash for snack stalls.
- Rain
- Mild weather is the main risk: in 2025 the sculptures lost their shape and the top of one was cut off on 15 February, and in January 2020 unusually warm weather made preparations difficult. The 2025 rename to 'Taebaek Winter Festival' was explained as a response to climate change.
- Step-free access
- The grounds around Dangol Plaza are snow and ice. In 2025 a visitor told Pressian that wheelchair users could not enter the air dome. No step-free information was published.
2027 program
- Programme not announced as of 19 October 2026
At the close of the 2026 festival the Taebaek City Culture Foundation said it would keep developing winter content but gave no 2027 plan. The official site (taebaeksnow.com) and the foundation's site could not be opened for this record.
Editions
| Year | Dates | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2027 | Not announced as of 19 October 2026. Recent editions opened on a Friday or Saturday between 10 January and 7 February and ran nine or ten days (31 Jan–8 Feb 2026, 7–16 Feb 2025), so late January to mid-February 2027 is likely. Seollal falls on Sunday 7 February 2027 (holiday 6–9 February). It would be the 34th edition. | expected | At the close of the 2026 festival the Taebaek City Culture Foundation said it would keep developing winter content but gave no 2027 plan. The official site (taebaeksnow.com) and the foundation's site could not be opened for this record. |
| 2026 | 31 Jan – 8 Feb 2026 | ended | Dangol Plaza and surroundings in Taebaeksan National Park; car park 1 held the indoor experience zone |
| 2025 | 7–16 Feb 2025 | ended | Taebaeksan National Park (Dangol Plaza), Hwangji Pond, the restored Hwangji stream and Munhwa Plaza; shows at Gowon Gymnasium |
| 2024 | 26 Jan – 4 Feb 2024 | ended | Dangol Plaza area, Taebaeksan National Park |
| 2023 | 27–31 Jan 2023 | ended | Snow sculptures at Dangol Plaza stayed on show until 5 February |
| 2020 | 10–19 Jan 2020 | ended | Dangol Plaza and upper plaza, Munhwa Plaza, the theme park and other city-centre sites |
Before or after the festival
Places you can fit in before or after the festival without missing the shuttle or the last train or bus back.
A city museum of Korea's coal-mining history next to Dangol Plaza, billed as East Asia's largest coal museum: about 7,700 minerals, mining tools and miners' household items on four floors, plus a walk-through mine tunnel. Normally 09:00–18:00 (last entry 17:00, closed Mondays); in 2026 it stayed open to 21:00 for the festival, filling a cold midday break or the gap between the 17:00 close of the grounds and the sculpture lights from about 18:00. Allow two hours; adults ₩2,000.
Getting there: Next to Dangol Plaza in the national park, on foot; free
- Hwangji Pond (황지연못)After
A spring-fed pond in Hwangji Park in central Taebaek, counted as the source of the Nakdong River: about 5,000 tonnes of water a day well up into three linked pools that rarely freeze, beside a statue from the legend of the miser Hwang. Free, open around the clock and lit at night, it suits the end of the day on the way back to Taebaek Station; a loop takes 15–20 minutes. Check the last train in the Korail+ app (코레일+) and the last bus at the terminal before you linger.
Getting there: In central Taebaek; taxi or city bus from Dangol Plaza (route, journey time and fare not checked)
Questions travelers ask
When is the Taebaeksan Snow Festival 2027?
The dates had not been announced by 19 October 2026. Recent editions opened on a Friday or Saturday between 10 January and 7 February and ran nine or ten days (31 January–8 February 2026; 7–16 February 2025), so late January to mid-February 2027 is likely. Seollal falls on 7 February 2027.
Is the Taebaeksan Snow Festival free?
Yes. KTO lists free admission for 2025 and 2026, and the sculptures, sled areas and most programmes are on open grounds. Whether any single activity charged a fee in 2026 was not stated.
What are the opening hours?
In 2026 the grounds were open 10:00–17:00, and the snow sculptures stayed open and lit until 22:00 every day, with lights on from about 18:00. KTO's 2025 listing gave 09:00–18:00.
How do I get there from Seoul?
Take an intercity bus from Dong Seoul Terminal to Taebaek (25 a day, about 2 h 49 m, ₩38,400 woodeung) or a train from Cheongnyangni to Taebaek Station (5 a day; 2 h 54 m by ITX-Maeum, about 3.5 hours by Mugunghwa, ₩15,200–21,600). Then take a taxi or a city bus to Dangol Plaza in the national park.
Can I do it as a day trip from Seoul?
It can be done, but it is a long day: 2 h 49 m–3 h each way by bus from Dong Seoul (25 a day as listed in October 2026) or 2 h 54 m–3 h 42 m by train from Cheongnyangni. Check the last train in the Korail+ app (코레일+) and the last bus at Taebaek Bus Terminal before the festival day.
Can I hike Taebaeksan during the festival?
Yes. Dangol Plaza is a main trailhead for the 1,567 m mountain, and the festival holds a snow-flower hiking contest (7 February in 2026; in 2023 about 1,100 climbers headed for the summit). Winter hiking gear such as crampons is needed.
Why was it called the Taebaek Winter Festival in 2025?
For its 32nd edition (7–16 February 2025) the festival was renamed and spread into the city centre, a change explained as a response to climate change. The 2025 edition drew criticism for fewer sculptures and visitors, and in 2026 it returned as the Taebaeksan Snow Festival.
Has the festival ever been cancelled?
Yes. The 2011 edition was cancelled over foot-and-mouth disease, though the sculptures at Dangol Plaza still went up, and the festival was not held in 2021 or 2022 during the COVID-19 pandemic. It returned in January 2023.
Sources and verification
Facts checked
21 October 2026, against the sources listed below.
This page is desk research from the sources below, not a firsthand report of the 2027 edition. Confidence in the current facts: medium.
- ktriptips (KTO foreign-language data, German) — Taebaeksan Schneefestival (태백산 눈축제)kto — KTO listing for 2026: 31 Jan–8 Feb 2026; Taebaeksan National Park; address 180 Sodo-dong (26043); coordinates 37.115737/128.949162; +82-33-553-6900; homepage www.taebaeksnow.com; organizer Taebaek Cultural Foundation; free
- ktriptips (KTO foreign-language data, Traditional Chinese) — 太白山雪花節 (태백산눈축제)kto — Traditional Chinese name 太白山雪花節; 7–16 Feb 2025; national park and Hwangji Pond; coordinates 37.1157874148/128.9491897281; +82-33-553-6900; host Taebaek City, organizer Taebaek Cultural Foundation (tbcf.or.kr); free
- ktriptips (KTO foreign-language data, Russian) — Снежный фестиваль в горах Тхэбэксан (태백산 눈축제)kto — KTO listing for 2025: 7–16 Feb 2025, 09:00–18:00; Sodo-dong 180; map point 37.1316/128.9595; 033-553-6900; Taebaek Culture Foundation; free; first held in 1994; English name 'Taebaeksan Mountain Snow Festival'
- ktriptips (KTO foreign-language data, Japanese) — 太白山国立公園kto — Japanese name 太白山雪祭り (태백산눈축제) listed as a nearby spot to Taebaeksan National Park (太白山国立公園)
- Herald Economy (US edition) — 2026 REAL 태백산 눈축제 (25 Jan 2026)news — 33rd edition, 31 Jan–8 Feb (9 days); 10:00–17:00; unveiling 31 Jan 13:00; night opening to 22:00, new; 27 programmes; photo show 2–6 Feb; roulette 31 Jan–1 Feb, 7–8 Feb; university contest 23–30 Jan, 10 universities, Haneul Jeonmangdae car park; sleds, smelt catching, roasting; car park 1 indoor zone; bio-health checks; Winter Market; city and foundation
- Twig24 — 태백으로 떠나는 설국 여행…31일 눈축제 개막 (29 Jan 2026)news — 33rd edition 31 Jan–8 Feb 2026, national park; foundation organizes; slogan REAL; red-horse gate; igloo cafeteria; first logo song; 7 Feb hiking contest; 7–8 Feb backpacking at 꿈꾸는 예술터; Coal Museum to 21:00; Paleozoic museum, Yongyeon Cave, 365 Safe Town no closing days; Jijirigol birch forest; Korail tours from Busan 2 and 4 Feb; Visit Gangwon Year pick
- Herald Economy (US edition) — '레알 태백산 눈축제' 8일까지 야간에도 (4 Feb 2026)news — 33rd edition, opened 31 Jan, closes 8 Feb (9 days); Dangol Plaza, Taebaeksan National Park; sculptures open until 22:00 every day; Snow Land theme; Year of the Horse sculptures; sled and ice-sled areas, igloo cafeteria, indoor kids' playground; organizer (재)태백시문화재단
- Kukinews — 제33회 태백산 눈축제 개막…첫 주말 '인산인해' (31 Jan 2026)news — Opened 31 Jan 2026; 27 programmes; red-horse gate, clean-city monument, cultural-treasure sculptures; viewing to 22:00; sled, ice sled, skating, smelt catching, roasting, igloo cafeteria, indoor kids' zone with mini Winter Olympics, magic and bubble shows; Governor Kim Jin-tae, Mayor Lee Sang-ho; crowded first weekend
- Kukinews — 제33회 태백산 눈축제 성료 (10 Feb 2026)news — 33rd edition held 31 Jan–8 Feb 2026 (9 days); Snow Land at Dangol Plaza; igloo cafeteria re-opened; night opening to 22:00; extended sled run; foundation pledges to keep developing winter content; no 2027 plan or visitor total
- Wikitree — 태백산 눈축제 (1 Feb 2026)news — 33rd edition, 9 days from 31 Jan 2026; 10:00–17:00 with night viewing to 22:00; 27 programmes incl. skating rink; 'REAL Taebaek' lettering sculpture and red-horse gate
- ELLE Korea — winter festival guide (31 Jan 2026)news — 2026 dates 31 Jan–8 Feb; lights on after 18:00, night opening to 22:00; sculptures over 10 m; igloo cafeteria selling hotteok, roasted sweet potatoes and fish cake
- Kukinews — 명칭 변경 태백산 눈축제…'태백 겨울 축제' (22 Jan 2025)news — 32nd edition as '2025 Taebaek Winter Festival', 7–16 Feb 2025 (10 days); national park, Hwangji Pond, restored Hwangji stream; 33 programmes; opening 8 Feb 14:00 at Gowon Gymnasium, free, first come; Teenieping sing-along 9 Feb 14:00 and 18:00; Starlight Festa; rename tied to climate change; organizer the foundation
- Pressian — 태백산 눈축제 논란…볼거리 등 역대 최악? (11 Feb 2025)news — 32nd edition 7–16 Feb; only 12 sculptures; Teenieping theme; igloo café and ice sledding dropped; air dome not accessible to a wheelchair user; opening 8 Feb at Gowon Gymnasium with 정동원, 이무진, 박군, 장정희; budget ₩970 million
- Pressian — 태백산 눈축제 '초라한' 성적표 (17 Feb 2025)news — 7–16 Feb 2025; 27,868 national-park visitors (2,786 a day), about 100,000 with Hwangji Pond; earlier years 500,000–600,000; 11 competition works, sledding, air dome; Hwangji Pond busking, bubble and magic shows, Teenieping zone, Starlight Festa; sculptures softened in mild weather, one cut on 15 Feb
- ELLE Korea — 태백산 눈축제 (7 Feb 2025)news — 2025 edition ends 16 Feb; free admission; 033-553-6900; Teenieping photo and play zones and sing-along show
- 여행을말하다 (Nate travel) — 제32회 태백산 눈축제 (13 Feb 2025)blog — Festival began in 1994; 32nd edition 7–16 Feb 2025; Taebaeksan 1,567 m; hiking contest during the festival
- News Seoul — 3년만에 돌아온 제30회 태백산 눈축제 27일 개막 (27 Jan 2023)news — 30th edition opened Fri 27 Jan 2023 at 17:00 at the Hwangji Pond culture plaza special stage; returned after three years; Dangol Plaza family activities; Starlight Festival at Hwangji Pond; hiking contest from 29 Jan; KBS National Singing Contest recorded 31 Jan at Gowon Gymnasium
- News Seoul — 제30회 태백산 눈축제 35만 돌파 기대 (31 Jan 2023)news — Opening 27 Jan, hiking contest 29 Jan (200 teams of four plus about 300 individuals, about 1,100) to the summit, closing 31 Jan with KBS recording at 14:00; sculptures at Dangol Plaza until 5 Feb; about 26,200 (27 Jan), 110,000 (28 Jan), 120,000 (29 Jan), about 230,000 over the weekend; 350,000 expected
- News Seoul — 제30회 태백산 눈축제 테마공원 (17 Jan 2023)news — Theme park below Dangol Plaza: traditional kites, spinning tops, ice sledding, large snow slide, grilling over coal briquettes; opening on the 27th; return after three years
- Munhwa Ilbo — 여느냐 마느냐…겨울축제 발 동동 (6 Nov 2020)news — Foundation undecided on the January 2021 festival amid COVID-19; pneumoconiosis patients; National Park Service permission needed; foundation hosting from 2020; 500,000–1,000,000 visitors a year; budget about ₩1 billion
- Sports Kyunghyang — 하늘 아래 첫 도시 '태백'의 눈축제 (5 Jan 2020)news — 27th edition 10–19 Jan 2020 (10 days); 33 large snow and 20 ice sculptures; fairy-tale theme at Dangol and upper plaza; snowman contest 10 Jan, prizes ₩5.5 million; opening 11 Jan 16:00 at Munhwa Plaza; 6 m × 30 m snow sled, 15 m × 15 m ice sled; target 500,000; unusually warm weather
- Bizhankook — 태백산 눈축제 travel feature (31 Dec 2019)news — 27th festival 10–19 Jan 2020 with Dangol Plaza as main venue; Coal Museum next to Dangol, 09:00–18:00, closed Mondays; Hwangji Pond, source of the Nakdong River, open 24 hours
- Seoul Shinmun — 구제역에 태백산 눈축제도 취소 (14 Jan 2011)news — 18th festival planned 20–30 Jan 2011 at Taebaeksan Provincial Park and O2 Resort cancelled by the committee on 13 Jan over foot-and-mouth disease; sculptures and college contest at Dangol went ahead unofficially
- Lady Kyunghyang — 태백에서 색다른 겨울 보내기 (1 Feb 2005)news — 12th edition, 21–30 Jan 2005, at Dangol Plaza in Taebaeksan Provincial Park (consistent with a first festival in 1994)
- Cheongnyangni → Taebaek train timetable, 18–24 Oct 2026 (third-party mirror of the MOLIT/data.go.kr national timetable feed, page last modified 2026-10-18)other — 5 trains a day: Mugunghwa 07:34 (arr 11:16), 09:51 (arr 13:15), 12:16 (arr 15:52), 19:10 (arr 22:43), 3 h 24 m–3 h 42 m, ₩15,200; ITX-Maeum 17:08 (arr 20:02), 2 h 54 m, ₩21,600; no KTX listed
- Taebaek → Cheongnyangni train timetable, 19–25 Oct 2026 (third-party mirror of the MOLIT/data.go.kr national timetable feed, page last modified 2026-10-19)other — 5 trains a day: Mugunghwa 07:01, 14:50, 16:17 (arr 19:55), 19:32 (arr 22:49); ITX-Maeum 08:49 (arr 11:46); ₩15,200 / ₩21,600
- Dong Seoul → Taebaek intercity bus timetable (third-party mirror of the MOLIT/data.go.kr national timetable feed, page last modified 2026-10-12)other — 25 buses a day 06:00–22:30 (06:00 arr 08:49); 2 h 49 m–3 h 00 m; woodeung ₩38,400 (₩46,000 on the 22:30), premium ₩49,900
- Taebaek → Dong Seoul intercity bus timetable (third-party mirror of the MOLIT/data.go.kr national timetable feed, page last modified 2026-10-19)other — 25 buses a day 04:40–22:10; last 19:20 (arr 22:18), 21:00 premium (arr 23:58) and 22:10 (arr 01:08, ₩46,000); woodeung ₩38,400, premium ₩49,900
- Kyunghyang Shinmun — KTX·SRT 9월 1일 통합 (6 Aug 2026)news — Integrated KTX–SRT operation from 1 Sep 2026; integrated Korail+ app
- kholidayz — 2027 Seollalother — Seollal on Sunday 7 Feb 2027; holiday 6–9 Feb with Tuesday 9 Feb as the substitute holiday
- Pressian — 태백산눈축제 방문객 집계 논란 (31 Jan 2024)news — 31st edition opened 26 Jan 2024, theme 지금, 여기, 태백, Dangol Plaza; foundation count 300,000+ over 26–28 Jan vs 17,874 on park counters; free shuttle buses on the 1.7 km road from the park entrance to the Dangol car park; the 30th edition's 306,000 total was also disputed
- Pressian — 태백산눈축제 58만 명? (5 Feb 2024)news — 31st edition 26 Jan–4 Feb 2024 (10 days), Dangol Plaza; foundation claimed 580,000+; park counters at 18 points 43,944 (7.57%); count by one part-time student with a hand counter at the old Dangol ticket booth 10:00–16:00; 20+ snow sculptures, student sculptures, igloo café, giant snow slide, 10 shuttle buses
- ktriptips (KTO foreign-language data, Spanish) — Festival de la Nieve del Monte Taebaeksan (태백산눈축제)kto — KTO listing for 2026: 31 Jan–8 Feb 2026, 09:00–18:00; Taebaeksan National Park and Taebaek Culture Plaza; Sodo-dong 180; 033-553-6900; Taebaek Culture Foundation; free
- Busan Central Bus Terminal → Taebaek intercity bus timetable (third-party mirror of the MOLIT/data.go.kr national timetable feed, page last modified 2026-10-17)other — 3 buses a day: 07:28 (arr 11:59), 09:34 (arr 14:09), 15:31 (arr 20:02); 4 h 31 m–4 h 35 m; woodeung ₩53,200
- Taebaek Coal Museum (태백석탄박물관), KTO data via ktriptipskto — Coal Museum: 09:00–18:00, last entry 17:00, closed Mondays; adults ₩2,000, youth ₩1,500, children ₩1,000; free parking; 195 Cheonjedan-gil; homepage taebaek.go.kr/coalmuseum; largest coal museum in East Asia; about 7,739 items on three floors plus a basement; visit about 2 hours
- '낙동강 발원지'가 도심이라고요? (Wikitree, Hwangji Pond)news — Hwangji Pond in central Taebaek, source of the Nakdong River; three linked ponds; about 5,000 tonnes a day from the upper pond; rarely freezes; legend of the miser Hwang and the daughter-in-law statue; open at all times, free
- 태백 1박2일 가족여행 눈꽃 코스 (baby.tali.kr)blog — Dangol reached by city bus or taxi (no route or time given); Coal Museum mine-tunnel experience hall, last entry 17:00, closed Mondays; Hwangji Pond in Hwangji Park, walk around in 15–20 minutes, lit at night, free
What we could not confirm
- 2027 dates are not announced as of 21 October 2026 (no announcement found in a search that day). The official site (taebaeksnow.com, listed by KTO) and the Taebaek City Culture Foundation site (tbcf.or.kr) could not be opened, so any notice posted there is unchecked.
- Coordinates: KTO's data disagree (37.1158/128.9492 in the 2025 Chinese and 2026 German listings, 37.1316/128.9595 on the 2025 Russian listing's map). The record uses the first pair; confirm the exact point of Dangol Plaza. The address is given only as the lot number Sodo-dong 180.
- 2021 and 2022 are recorded as cancelled from the 2023 'return after three years' coverage and November 2020 reporting on COVID-19; no cancellation notice was opened.
- Activity fees (sled, smelt catching, roasting), parking fees, restrooms, foreign-card acceptance and English support were not found.
- City bus routes, times and taxi fares from Taebaek Bus Terminal or Taebaek Station to Dangol Plaza, and any festival shuttle, were not found.
- Bus fares come from a third-party mirror of the national timetable feed (₩38,400 woodeung, ₩49,900 premium, ₩46,000 on the late-night runs); check at the terminal.
- Simplified Chinese name not verified (KTO's Traditional Chinese name is 太白山雪花節; the Japanese 太白山雪祭り comes from KTO data via ktriptips). KTO's Korean listing and its contentId were not located, and KTO's English listing was not opened.
- Hours: KTO's Spanish listing gives 09:00–18:00 for 2026, while the press reports opened give 10:00–17:00 (sculptures to 22:00); the record follows the press.
- The rail timetable mirror pages (Cheongnyangni–Taebaek both ways) could not be reopened in the 21 October 2026 audit; the bus timetables were rechecked that day.
- Visitor totals are organiser figures that the national park's own counters have contradicted (2024: 580,000+ claimed, 43,944 counted); treat crowd figures as rough.
- Last train from Taebaek to Cheongnyangni and last bus to Dong Seoul on the festival dates under the timetable in force that day.
- Coal Museum hours during the 2027 festival (it stayed open until 21:00 in 2026) and whether it opens on festival Mondays; city bus route, journey time and taxi fare from Dangol Plaza to Hwangji Pond and Taebaek Station.
Changes: 2026-10-19 — Added to the site: fact-first record (dates, hours, prices, getting there, sources). · 2026-10-19 — Added a Wikimedia Commons photograph of snow sculptures at the 2019 festival (칼빈500, CC BY-SA 3.0). · 2026-10-20 — Summary aligned with the expected window: late January to mid-February 2027. · 2026-10-21 — Corrected after an independent fact audit: added the missing 2024 (31st) edition, 26 Jan–4 Feb 2024, to the dates and pattern; marked attendance figures as disputed; added the 2024 free shuttle and a Busan intercity bus route; corrected the 2020 theme and venues. · 2026-10-21 — Transport: removed train and bus clock times from the October 2026 timetables, which do not cover the 2027 festival; journey times, frequencies and fares kept, with a reminder to check the last train and bus before the festival day. · 2026-10-30 — Nearby rewritten as 'Before or after the festival' (shuttle and last-train fit); transport: no change (no train, bus or shuttle clock times left; journey times, frequencies and fares kept); prices: no change (entry free, no fees quoted in forward-looking text).
.jpg?width=960)

